
Duties of a Diligent Dummy 

Test yourself on this quiz 

1. Can Dummy call the Director when they see a Defender lead out of turn ? 

2. Can Dummy ask Declarer if they are out of a suit in which she has not followed ? 

3. Can Dummy place their hand on the table near their cards, whenever the lead must come from 

Dummy ? 

4. Can Dummy ask a Defender if they are out of a suit in which they have not followed  

5. Can Dummy follow the play and are they entitled to see all cards played by Defenders ? 

6. Can Dummy call attention to Declarer’s trick(s) turned incorrectly, two or three tricks after it 

was played. 

7. Can Dummy call attention to any irregularity at any time to prevent improper play by either 

Declarer or a Defender ? 

8. Can Dummy ask the Defender(s) questions about bids before the first card is played from 

Dummy ? 

9. Can Dummy declare “everyone is responsible for dummy” when a procedural or playing error 

occurs, such as a card stuck behind another in Dummy’s hand ? 

10. Does Dummy have any rights during the play ? 

11. Can Dummy tell the Declarer to call the Director when a Defender leads out of turn ? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Answers  

1. No. Dummy cannot call the Director at any time 

2. Yes . . . but NOT a Defender.  Dummy can also draw attention to partner possibly playing from 

the wrong hand, but must not indicate which hand they lead from after each trick (eg keeping 

their hand on the table to indicate the lead is from Dummy) 

3. No. Dummy can draw attention when Declarer is about to play from the wrong hand, but must 

not indicate every time, if the lead must come from Dummy. 

4. No. Dummy cannot talk to a Defender  

5. Yes 

6. No. Dummy can do so immediately as the trick is played, but not on the next trick or any time 

thereafter.  

7. No, but may do so only after all tricks have been played.  

8. No 

9. No. Dummy is responsible. Rule 7B.1 says each player must count their cards and in 7B.3 clearly 

states “During play each player retains possession of his own cards…”  Therefore, the opposition 

cannot be expected to have to also count the cards in Dummy. 

10. No, other than Dummy can follow the play, give information to the Director or opposition when 

asked, play the cards as agent of the Declarer and try to prevent an irregularity by Declarer, such 

as leading from the wrong hand.  

11. No. Dummy can’t tell or suggest anything to the Declarer.  

 

Dummy cannot 

 look at declarer’s hand before playing  

 look at any Defender’s card  

 stand behind Declarer to watch his play  

 make any comment or question concerning bidding or play  

 touch a card or hold their hand over a card to indicate a card to play, without specific direction 

from Declarer 


